Self-accommodating lens implants - major brain crack with potential for awesome

The story
Hi, I'm a second-year med student and just came home from an ophthalmology (related to the eyes) seminar. In this seminar, we discussed cataracts and the ophthalmologist holding the seminar said how cool it would be if someone invented self-accommodating lens implants and I thought, come on, how hard can it be. Ok, I'll better explain:

The problem
Statistically, every person who lives to be more than 80 years old has already or will develop a cataract. This is a condition where the lens of the eye clouds over leading to vision impairment and eventual vision loss and since it's also associated with diabetes and high blood pressure it's likely going to be more common in the future.
There is a very good operation for this where the lens is taken out and replaced with a synthetic lens made of acrylic glass. It's a standard outpatient procedure in most cases. However, this acrylic lens is not flexible like the original human lens. This means that patients will have to wear glasses with multifocal or progressive lenses for the rest of their lives. And there are a lot of young patients, cataract is one of the most common conditions in pre-term babies.